So I’m still trying to sort out WordPress’s new writing layout. If I messed with the thing more than once a month, I’m sure I’d become more proficient with it sooner rather than later. But once a month works with my schedule, so that’s how it will be.

The different type of curve comes as a result of softball. It’s NCAA softball tournament time, and productivity tends to end up in the crapper as a result. I am proud to say I’ve done a mostly decent job this season keeping things rolling on the writing side and getting a hefty dose of softball watching in.

Echoes of War News

The ARCs arrived in Maryland at a friend’s house just before I got into town, so that worked out well. I have started mailing/distributing them and the publicist is off to the races doing her thing. At first I was shocked by the publicist price tag when I signed my contract with Smith Publicity months ago, but now I understand why it costs so much. I just started getting their formal status reports, and quite frankly, I no longer wonder why the price tag was where it was. My publicist is BUSY! It is seriously impressive. I feel like Super Slacker typing this and watching softball at the same time. 🙂

I did another read through of the novel, this time using the ARC to sniff out any final typos to be cleaned up. I finished that read and sent the short list of fixes to the publisher today.

To give you an idea of the publicist’s talent, here’s part of the press release she put together:

Echoes of War

Book One in the Echoes Trilogy

By Cheryl Campbell

EDGY POST-APOCALYPTIC SCI-FI SERIES SET IN NEW ENGLAND BRINGS A POWERFUL & COMPLEX FEMALE LEAD INTO THE SPOTLIGHT

“Campbell’s sci-fi debut doesn’t pull any punches. The world is bold and exciting, the characters are relatable, and Campbell expertly weaves enough twists and turns into the story to keep you guessing. If Echoes of War is any indication, this trilogy is shaping up to be an exciting ride.”

— Kris A. Hiatt, #1 bestselling author of the epic fantasy series ‘Saga of The Wolf’

What if a single act of kindness were the tipping point to begin the end of a decades-long war?

In Echoes of War [September 10, 2019, SparkPress]– the first book in an edgy new post-apocalyptic sci-fi series from award-winning author Cheryl Campbell — Dani is a scavenger living on the fringes of society in Maine, gathering enough supplies to live another day… or so she thinks.

In truth, Dani is not just another war-displaced civilian. She is an Echo — a member of a nearly-immortal alien race. Dani, along with other human and Echo civilians, avoids the Wardens, a splinter group of genocidal Echoes leading a decades-long, human-hunting war against anyone who resists their rule on Earth. 

When Dani risks her own well-being to save a human boy from a violent kidnapping, a chain of events is sparked which forces her to revisit events and people from past lives that she can’t remember — and to step out of the shadows and play her part in the David vs. Goliath-esque battle. But her attempts to change the bleak future facing humankind will lead her to the center of a violent confrontation that even she may not survive…

Set in real-life towns, cities, and landmarks in Maine and Massachusetts which will be immediately recognizable to anyone who has lived or spent time in New England, Echoes of War is a fast-paced, militaristic sci-fi thriller which follows a complex female protagonist as her already-messy life gets thrown into even greater chaos.

“I love a conflicted hero, and Dani is a bit of a walking disaster” shares Campbell, who is making her adult science fiction debut with the release of Echoes of War. “She’s foul-mouthed, stubborn, explores relationships with men and women — unsure of what she wants or needs, and makes a lot of mistakes. But even though she’s a member of a hated alien race, she exhibits tremendous humanity and kindness.”

“Dani’s external story arc is simply to survive,” Campbell continues, “but her internal desire is to belong to and believe in something bigger than herself. I think that internal drive resonates with a lot of people and will draw others to this story.”

A must-read for fans of Martha Wells’ The Murderbot Diaries, Robert D. Armstrong’s World Apart series, and cult favorite TV shows like The Rain and Colony, Echoes of War will be released on September 10, 2019 with SparkPress in paperback and e-book formats, and available for purchase wherever books are sold.

Yep. My publicist rocks!


Images from AdobeStock, Licensed to Cheryl Campbell

Share: